Click here to read testimonials from some of the many businesses that have been helped by the BUSINESSFIRST! program.

Get Started Today

Find out what BUSINESSFIRST!
can do for

Who We Are

BusinessFirst! for a Greater Dayton Region is a retention and expansion program that gives a business owner a single point of contact for a wide range of assistance that is available from local, county, regional, state and federal agencies. The BusinessFirst! program began in February of 2001 and Outreach Professionals have met with more than 6,000 local businesses throughout the Dayton region.

BusinessFirst! for a Greater Dayton Region has been the recipient of numerous awards including:

  • The National Association of Counties Award for being an innovative program which contributes to and enhances county government.
  • Business Retention and Expansion International Award of Excellence for an outstanding multi-community, county, and regional business retention and expansion program.
  • Ohio Department of Development Award for the most innovative business retention and expansion program in the State of Ohio.
  • The Ohio City/County Management Association Award for intergovernmental regional cooperation.

The Greater Dayton Region was also awarded the Governor’s Cup from Site Selection Magazine for new and expanded corporate facilities in 2012.

The BusinessFirst! program uses a customer-oriented approach to economic development designed to link businesses to resources in the community. The BusinessFirst! team is a coordinated group of more than 100 government agencies and nonprofit economic development organizations and corporations. BusinessFirst! for a Greater Dayton Region is comprised of 30 member jurisdictions throughout multiple counties in the region, with over 100 community resource partners assisting businesses  to operate successfully in the Dayton region.

BusinessFirst! member jurisdictions include:

City of Brookville Miami County
Butler Township (Montgomery) Miami Township (Montgomery)
City of Clayton City of Miamisburg
City of Centerville Montgomery County
Darke County City of Moraine
City of Dayton City of Piqua
City of Eaton Preble County
City of Englewood City of Springboro
City of Fairborn City of Tipp City
Village of Farmersville City of Trotwood
Village of Germantown City of Troy
Harrison Township (Montgomery) City of Vandalia
City of Huber Heights Washington Township (Montgomery)
Jefferson Township (Montgomery) City of West Carrollton
City of Kettering City of Xenia